Stars and Bars, CSA

Confederate States of America

Date: March 14, 1861

Description: Three bars - red, white, red. Circle of seven stars in blue canton. [X05]

On March 4, 1861, Abraham Lincoln was inaugurated President of the United States. On that same day, the Confederacy adopted its own flag. One month later, war broke out between the states and two flags were flying over our country.

In all, the Confederacy had three flags popularly know as the Stars and Bars. The first flag had three broad stripes; two red and a white stripe in the center. In the canton on a blue background were 7 white stars, symbolizing the seven states which had seceded.

South Carolina seceded first, December 20, 1860, followed by Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, and Texas within the next six weeks. Later the design was changed. It was felt that the flag was too similar to the stars and stripes, especially when hanging limp on a staff.

This flag was signed by the Governor of Virginia, Mills E. Godwin, Jr.

Also see Flags of the Confederacy web site.